Time for some backyard bounty

It’s that time of year again, the time when Canadians crawl out of their winter homes, and find themselves wandering around the yard just because its sunny and  warm.

This summer I’m planning on planting a garden in the back yard of my rental house, and I think I’m going to be in good company.  The city will soon be buzzing with activity in backyards, tilling up gardens and planting seedlings. I can’t wait to get out and tear up a little piece of dirt and fill it my own little vegetable patch.

The city is home of lots of gardeners, including the Guelph and Wellington County Master Gardeners. An organization of amateur gardeners who get together to learn about gardening as well as hosting plant sales.

There is even a professional group in Guelph turning residential yards into urban farms, check them out at Backyard Bounty!

Leave a comment