Well Funded Anti-Agriculture Lobby

This past Friday was the SFOAC’s annual Aggie Goodtimes, a semi-formal banquet attended by most agriculture science and agricultural business students. It’s an opportunity for students to get dressed up and celebrate their colleges and some of their top athletes, clubs and students.  Every year their is also a guest speaker, this year the speaker was Andrew Campbell from Farms.com. Andrew commented on the impact and possibilities in social media, new technologies and the internet in order to increase consumer knowledge. Unfortunately his talk was heavily biased and blatantly one sided in support of industrial agricultural and purely vilifying any organization opposed to the decisions of industrial agriculture. He called for students at the banquet to take up arms in a sense and write blogs and join Facebook groups in support of industrial agriculture. I agree with the concept and clearly am following his directions by writing this blog, but some of his comments I have severe issues with including a statement he made about the well funded anti-agriculture lobby such as Greenpeace and PETA. I recently say a video that mentioned this topic and contrasted the “well funded” lobby versus the lobbying spending of the major agricultural corporations. I hope Andrew is ready to have both sides of these issues represented fairly and that vilifying an opponent does nothing for his argument, even if he feels they are vilifying his opinion.

5 Responses to Well Funded Anti-Agriculture Lobby

  1. Thanks for the comments about my speech. I’m always happy to see when people take something away from a presentation.

    I’ll be the first to admit I am biased towards MODERN agriculture. But I think your idea of industrial agriculture and my view of modern agriculture are a bit different. To me, modern agriculture includes almost every farmer in Canada. I used the example of my family farm a couple of times in my speech and I’ll use it again. I consider my dairy farm, where we milk 45 cows, to be modern. We use modern milking machines, use modern nutrition tests to ensure the cattle are getting all their required nutrients, and we use modern planters, hay cutters, and seed and pesticides to producer high quality food for the cows. Are we modern, industrial or both? I also think most organic farms are modern – because they too use modern testing, tools, and practices to be as productive as possible. Is an organic producer who farms 1000 acres modern? Industrial? Both? What about a 1000 acre corn and soybean farmer who uses genetically modified seeds and pesticides in order to get high quality and high yields all at once? I guess what I’m trying to find out is when does a farm become industrial instead of just being a family farm.

    Next time, I hope you’ll come up and say hello in person as I always enjoy having these discussions face-to-face.

    Thanks again for the comments.

    Andrew

    • Hi Andrew, I agree that our views of modern or industrial agriculture are different, I chose my words to express my opinion and you chose yours to prove your point. That was not my biggest issue with your speech, my biggest problem was the lack of respect for those with different opinions. I also felt that you had a negative opinion of your own customers, saying that they would believe anything that anyone told them about agriculture because they are so un-informed. I feel this view of our customers will not help them learn more about agriculture or start any positive conversations that really get people involved with the issues.

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Andrew Campbell, Glynn Young. Glynn Young said: RT @AgriNewsHound Always happy to start discussions with a speech – even if it isn't exactly what I said. http://bit.ly/8tL4Ad […]

  3. earlymilking says:

    I also heard Andrew’s speech at the Annual Aggie Goodtimes and didn’t pick up on the same lack of respect for different opinions or heavily, blatantly biased towards industrial agriculture. I did however hear strong call for the future of agriculture’s leaders to take an active role in promoting the true story of Canadian agriculture practices to consumers. The agriculture industry has many extreme critics that attempt to steer consumers away from the truth. This was the perfect message for that night and I was very glad I stayed sober through dinner to hear it!

  4. […] one of the primary reasons I’m writing this blog, and has been discussed in some of my past entries.   So my ears perk up anytime I hear about local farmers in the local media or participating in […]

Leave a Reply

